Live Well

Veg Living by Brian: On life for the healthy, environmentally-conscious vegetarian

Spotlight: pomelo fruit

leave a comment »

Hope everyone enjoyed yesterday’s post on some raw goodies by Awesome Foods!

At Whole Foods, which happens to be one of my favorite supermarkets, we picked up some great produce, including berries and Chilean cherries, but we got another fruit that I had neither tasted nor heard of ever before.

Scientifically, it’s called citrus maxima, and it’s commonly known as the pomelo. Resembling an obese grapefruit, this bittersweet citrus treat has a yellow exterior, a light salmon-colored pith and, for the variety I tried, a bright pink inside.

The fruit definitely caught my eye in the produce section, looking at first like a melon. However, the squishy texture definitely indicated, upon touching the outer layer, that it wasn’t a melon but a citrus fruit.

There are many things to be done with fresh fruit, including one method of preparation that I’ve been very interested in lately, juicing. So, considering the pomelo’s size, I figured I’d toss half in the juicer after peeling it to see what would become if it.

The juice turned out to be very sweet and tasty, using my Jack LaLaine Power Juice Elite. I’ll definitely keep the pomelo in mind when looking in the supermarket! I’m sure they can be found in supermarkets around the country, considering the United States is the number 1 producer of grapefruit (including pomelos) in the world, China second and South Africa, surprisingly, third, according to Wikipedia here.

While at the Wikipedia page featuring pomelos, I stumbled upon this link from New York Magazine, which had an interesting recipe and blurb about this peculiar citrus fruit. Here it is if you like.

So, I hope you learned a little about the pomelo and are inspired to try it out (and maybe juice some), as well as some other exotic fruits like the durian, which I wrote about a while back right here, something I still want to try.

I’ll attach the pictures of my process from whole fruit to fresh juice. Enjoy and be well,

Brian

Here are the two links about pomelos in this post if you missed them:

Pomelo – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia –link

Patricia Yeo’s Candied Pomelo Peel – New York Mag –link

Written by esperantist

January 3, 2010 at 17:21

Leave a comment