Live Well

Veg Living by Brian: On life for the healthy, environmentally-conscious vegetarian

Granola bars to live on

with one comment

I don’t know what I would do without granola bars. For any snack, breakfast, lunch or meal… while traveling, at school, touring the city, or just at home… before, during and after exercise …they’ve always been there. And I’m sure many other vegetarians, vegans, non-veg’s will all find that granola bars have always been there for them as a healthy, tasty, convenient, easy-to-find, non-perishable treat that can, if chosen right, pack in great nutrition.

I’m sure you all have your favorites but in this post I want to share some tasty and trusty choices in the granola bar field that will be a beneficial addition to your nutritious diet. Always remember to go for fiber, protein, whole grains and good fats, and to avoid too much sugar or bad fats and carbs.

.

1. Kashi TLC granola bars are without a doubt number one. Longtime readers of this blog will know that I have a religious obsession with Kashi products. What a lovely selection with fiber, whole grains, omega-3‘s and much else. Tasty, too.

2. Läräbars are my recent love. Raw, vegan, soy and gluten free, fiber, protein, good fat. And usually only made with like three ingredients: dates and nuts most of the time. Tasty. Fun. What more could you want?


3. Nature’s Path, another favorite company, makes some tasty granola bars, especially the Pumpkin Flax Plus ones. Probably my second most-loved brand for lots of great products, along with Kashi.


4. Kind bars are a creative one. Great for healthy fats and things. Usually made with nuts and seeds and fruit, and support good organizations.


5. Clif and Luna bars I have known about for awhile but have recently very much began to like. They are great for the busy person as they come in great flavors with great nutrition. One of the most widely available I’ve seen. And please, people. Luna bars aren’t just for women. Men need Folic Acid and things too. C’mon.

.

So, those are my top 5 for today. Maybe some more soon. Check ’em out; I know you’ll love ’em. They’re the perfect snack and meal accompaniment and if you haven’t already looked into buying granola bars, I definitely encourage it as part of a vegetarian diet. Oh, and fruit leathers are yummy too. Two of my favorite stores to get these at: Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.

Be well,

Brian

Written by esperantist

October 1, 2009 at 21:51

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] back I wrote a little article (and podcast to accompany) on some favorite granola bar choices here. Of all of these, you know I am a huge fan of Kashi, as I wrote in this spotlight here. But, […]


Leave a comment